Skip to main content

July 2017

EXCERPTS of USD #384 Regular Board of Education Meeting

A Regular Board of Education meeting for USD #384 Blue Valley was held on July 10, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room.  Members present were James Peter, Mitch Innes, Angie Pfizenmaier, and Jason Andereson.  Administration present was Brady Burton, Superintendent and Melody Pfaff, Board Clerk.

CALL TO ORDER:  President, James Peter called the meeting to order at 7:20 p.m.

APPROVE THE AGENDA:  The Board approved the Agenda as presented. 

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:  Board and guests recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

WELCOME GUESTS:  President, James Peter welcomed our guests.

OPEN FORUM:  No one addressed the Board during Open Forum.


  1. Angie Pfizenmaier congratulated the district for a perfect safety audit.
  2. Mitch innes commended the summer maintenance staff for all their hard work.
  3. Kaite Hutson received a gold on her Star Event at FCCLA Nationals.

RECOGNITION OF STUDENTS/STAFF:  No one was in attendance to be recognized.

PRINCIPAL REPORTS:  There are no principal reports presented at the July meeting.

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT:  Superintendent Brady Burton informed the board that budget workshops will be held during the week of July 17.  A special meeting was set for July 26 at 4:00 p.m. to approve the 2017-2018 budget for publication.

BOARD REPORT:  Nothing to report.

CONSENT AGENDA:  The Board approvde the Consent Agenda as follows:

  1. Approved Minutes of:  June 12, 2017
  2. Approved Activity / Revenue / Expenditure Reports
  3. Approved Resignation – Twila Pressler as bus driver.
  4. Approved Hiring – Teresa Whearty as bus driver for 2017-2018.
  5. Approved Out of District Student Requests:
    1. Natalee Wachsnicht
    2. Calee Cooney
    3. Cassie Cooney
    4. Dakota Wachsnicht
  6. Approved KASB Annual Dues and Legal Services Fee
  7. Adopted Official Depository – Union State Bank, Olsburg
  8. Adopted 1,116 Hour Student Calendar
  9.  Designated Truant Officers – K.S.A. 72-1113
    1. McCormick Elementary School – Brady Burton
    2. Blue Valley Middle School – Marion Mazouch
    3. Blue Valley High School – Marion Mazouch
  1. Approved Hearing Officer For Free and Reduced Lunches – Brady Burton
  2. Approved the Following:
  1. Food Service Representative – Katie Geiger
  2.  Section 504 Director – Brady Burton

  3.  ADA Director – Brady Burton

  4.  Title I, IV, VII IX Director – Brady Burton

  5.  KPERS Representative – Melody Pfaff

  6.  District Attorney – Donna Whiteman, KASB

  7.  KASB Governmental Relations Representative – Brady Burton

  8.  Auditor – Derek Bruna, Washington County Tax and Accounting

  9.  PL874-382 Impact Aid Representative – Katie Geiger

10.  Freedom Information Officer – Melody Pfaff

11.  Official District Spokesperson – Brady Burton

12.  KIDS System Administrator – Katie Geiger

13.  Powerschool Administrator – Katie Geiger

  1. Designated Official District Newspaper – Riley Countian
  2.   Adopted the Annual Waiver of Requirements for General Acceptable Accounting
  3.   Rescinded all previous Board of Education Policies and Approve the 2017-2018 Board of Education Policies     
  4.   Adopted old records in storage more than five years old may be destroyed according to K.S.A. 72-5369
  5.   Adopted guidelines for activity fund and gate receipts as outlined in K.S.A. 72-536
  6. Designated the following board officials:
    1. Board Clerk – Melody Pfaff
    2. Deputy Board Clerk – Jenny Hoeltzel
    3. Board Treasurer – Katie Geiger
    4. Deputy Board Treasurer – Becky Brenner
  7.  Established Superintendent’s Spending Limit - $10,000                      


Budget Review:  The 2017-2018 budget has not been set so no report to go over.  There were no carryover funds from 2016-2017 so no transfers to be made.

Greg Vahrenberg (Piper-Jaffray) -  This item was tabled until August 14 due to the low number of board members present at the meeting. 

Election of 2017-2018 Board Officers: James Peter was elected Board of Education President for the 2017-2018 school year. 

Mitch Innes was elected Board of Education Vice-President for the 2017-2018 school year. 


Approve Warrants/Transfers:  The board approved warrants/transfers as presented. 

Agriculture Education Para Help:  Anthony Meals in attendance to as the Board to hire Megan Larson as an agriculture education paraprofessional for 2017-2018 school year.  Options were discussed as to the number of hours needed for this position.  After discussion, the Board approved hiring Megan Larson for 24 hours a week as an agriculture education paraprofessional

Ratification of 2017-2018 Negotiated Agreement:  The board ratified the 2017-2018 Negotiated Agreement. 

2017-2018 Classified/Bus Driver Salaries:  The board approved a 4% raise for classified staff and bus drivers for 2017-2018. 

2017-2018 Administrator Salaries:  The board approved a 4% raise for administrators for 2017-2018. 

Future Agenda Items:

  1.  Promotion of Bond
  2. Budget Hearing

Adjournment:  Meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Melody Pfaff

Board Clerk