Skip to main content


August 2017

EXCERPTS of USD #384 Regular Board of Education Meeting

A Regular Board of Education meeting for USD #384 Blue Valley was held on August 14, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room.  Members present were James Peter, Mitch Innes, Bruce Kaump, A.G. McLean, Jason Anderson, and Stephen Corkill. Administration present was Brady Burton, Superintendent, Marion Mazouch, Middle School/High School Principal, and Melody Pfaff, Board Clerk.

CALL TO ORDER:  President, James Peter called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

APPROVE THE AGENDA: The board approved the Agenda.  Motion carried 5-0.

Mitch Innes entered meeting at 7:04 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:  Board and guests recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

WELCOME GUESTS:  President, James Peter welcomed our guests.

OPEN FORUM:  Reo Shultz was in attendance.  He is possibly running in Bruce Kaump’s position as a write-in candidate.


  1.  Bruce Kaump commented that the welcome back for teachers was nice.  The grounds look good.

RECOGNITION OF STUDENTS/STAFF:  The Board welcomed the following new teachers to the district. 

  • Kelly Jefferson – Kindergarten teacher
  • Dawn Ayers – FACS teacher
  • Amber Ellis – Middle school science teacher
  • Brittany Pfaff – Middle school English teacher
  • Jason Lingenfelser – Middle school and high school special education teacher

PRINCIPAL REPORTS:  There were none.  Brady Burton informed the board that there are 94 students enrolled at McCormick Elementary School.  The back to school open house is scheduled for Wednesday, August 16 from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m.  Marion Mazouch estimated that there will be 60 students in each the middle school and high school buildings.  The welcome back for the high school and middle school is scheduled for Friday, August 25 with a soap scrimmage from 3:30-5:30 followed by a booster club hosted meal.   Open houses for the buildings will be from 6:00-8:00 p.m.

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT:  The district does not have an adopted budget for 2017-2018 yet due to the state releasing the budget software late this year.  The budget hearing to approve the 2017-2018 USD 384 budget is scheduled for Monday, August 28 at 7:00 a.m.


CONSENT AGENDA:  Jason Anderson moved, Stephen Corkill seconded to approve

  1. Approved Minutes of:  July 10, 2017 Regular Board Meeting
  2. Approved Activity / Revenue / Expenditure Reports
  3. Approved Resignations – Katie Geiger - middle school secretary and district   treasurer          
  4. Approved Hirings – Brandi Innes – middle school secretary and district treasurer; Robert Cowan- high school assistant boys basketball coach; Megan Larson – assistant FFA sponsor; Kelli Francis – robotics club sponsor
  5. Out of District Student Requests
  6. Approved the Following:
    1. Food Service Representative – Brandi Innes
    2. PL874-382 Impact Aid Representative – Brandi Innes
    3. KIDS System Administrator – Brandi Innes
    4. Powerschool Administrator – Brandi Innes
    5. Board Treasurer – Brandi Innes
  7. Out of State Trip Requests – None


Budget Review: Nothing to discuss this month without an approved 2017-2018 operating budget.

Bond Promotion:  Greg Vahrenberg, Piper-Jaffray, was in attendance to discuss the bond process.  The bond election was approved by the state board of education and will be placed on the November 7 ballot. There was discussion regarding remaining steps to the process and informing the public. The bond committee will meet on August 22 at 7:00 p.m. at the middle school to discuss setting up information meetings.  The board set public informational meeting dates as follows:

  • Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. at McCormick Elementary School
  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 7:00 p.m. at Blue Valley High School old gym


Approve Warrants/Transfers: The Board approved the warrants/transfers as presented.

Set Annual Tour of Buildings and Grounds: The board set the annual tour of buildings for Monday, September 11, at 5:30 p.m. beginning at McCormick Elementary School.

Future Agenda Items:

  1. Bond

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 8:42 p.m.

Melody Pfaff

Board Clerk